DIY lantern

I have been noticing that lanterns are all the rage, and I love them. What a great way to add texture and candles to a shelf. So as I was wondering around in blog land I found someone who too old outdoor lights and painted them and made them into lanterns. It was a fantastic idea!
I loved it so much that I had to try it. I am sorry to say, but I don’t remember who I got the idea from, but if it is you then let me know and I will link back to you!

As you might remember from a while ago I got these free outdoor lights off of Craigslist. Well, we only needed 2, so that left 2 for me to play with!

 And here is the ugly outdoor lights that we removed.

After cleaning them and painting them with Oil Rubbed Bronze, my husband took out the electrical parts and the back piece that holds it to the wall. Then, I put felt on the bottom and put a pillar candle inside! (the candle is on a candle plate) and that is it! Here is the finished product, what do you think?

Ok, ignore the paint line… We are in the middle of painting our house and I am not sure on colors so I am experimenting and seeing this works…

Lessons learned:
The most important lesson I learned is to bookmark and write down where I get ideas in case I want to copy them, that way I can give proper credit to the right person!

 

Leave a Reply

