Transform old jewelry into something new with this easy DIY

So a few weeks ago I won an old costume jewelry lot auction on eBay.  I won a huge box of old costume jewelry, it was filed with tons of goodies. Some pieces were broken, others were still in good condition just ugly, and some were wonderful as is.

So I took a pair of earrings that were not to my taste and updated them with a little bit of nail polish. The original yellow is a color I don’t wear because I don’t like the color and it doesn’t look good on me at all. 

Here is the before and after pictures so you can see what I did.

beforeafter

It is a very easy project one that would be fun to do with kids.

Materials:

Jewelry. Not all jewelry will work, but these earrings worked great.

sand paper, or emery board

nail polish (I used a base colors, sparkles, and a top coat)

And that is it, you really don’t need much for this project.

 

 

Instructions:

First I roughed up the surface of the earrings. This is to prep the surface so that the nail polish will have something to adhere to.

  20150709_185455

Then I painted the red solid color on the earrings. don’t forget to paint the edges, I didn’t want any of the yellow showing through. I stuck the earrings in a shoe box lid to dry so I didn’t mess them up by touching them all the time.

20150709_185913

I used N.Y.C. nail polish in Big Apple Red Crème. I painted on 3 coats, letting it dry in between coats.

20150709_185510

Once I was happy with the base color I added the sparkles. I am a big fan of anything glittery and this was a no brainer for me to add sparkles. Of course it is up to you if you want to add sparkles or not. I used Deborah Lippmann’s 99 Luftballons

20150709_191021        20150709_191025

Once the sparkles were dry I added a clear top coat.

20150709_191753

And that is it. Much better, don’t you think.

20150710_070209

Since this was so easy I think I have a few more pieces that need to be updated…

Leave a Reply

