Make Your Own Road Trip Pillow!

If you follow my Instagram you probably know by now that my son and I, along with some friends, went on a road trip to Disneyland. (if you don’t follow me on Instagram you are missing out on all the fun Smile ) Anyway, I decided that all the boys (there were 4 teenage boys with us) needed to have their own pillow for the trip. I have seen versions of these road trip pillows all over Etsy and Pinterest, and I thought these would be perfect! And after a week I can tell you that they worked perfectly, and they are easy to make!

20150726_091328

Materials:

About 1 yard of fabric per pillow

stuffing

sewing machine, or you can hand sew the pillow if you would like

 

Instructions:

1. Take your yard of fabric and fold in half, right sides together

20150727_175931

2. Stitch around the edge, making sure you leave a gap on the outside corners so you can stuff the individual pillows

20150728_174232

3. Turn it right side out

 

4. Stitch 2 lines in the middle. This is where the pillow can wrap around the seatbelt. I did a 4 inch area in the middle of the pillow.

20150728_175144

5. Stuff the pillow. My husband is a great sport and helped with the pillows. Initially I did over stuff them, but this is such an individual preference, so stuff as much or as little as you like.

20150728_180721

6. When you are done stuffing the pillows sew the gap closed. I decided not to hand sew the gap (I was running very short on time) so I just decided to use my machine to close the gap. And that is it!

20150728_181145

 

20150811_070059

My son looks so excited to pose with the finished pillow Smile

 

What do you like to take with you on a road trip?

Leave a Reply

