My hobby: Photography

When Lyle and I went to college in Florida (about a million years ago) I decided that I wanted to learn more about photography. So I found an art school and signed up for classes. It was one of the best schooling experiences that I have ever had. I enjoyed every minute of the all the photography classes that I took.

And from those classes I discovered that I had a new passion. This passion for photography has given me a creative outlet, even when I didn’t feel particularly creative.  I love the feel of the camera in my hand, the weight of it as I take a shot. Sometimes I would put the camera down and I didn’t pick it up for months on end, but when I did pick up the camera it is like seeing an old friend. We got to know each other again and before you know it is like no time has passed at all. That is one of the things I love most about photography.

I am always taking pictures of anything I find interesting. I have found that photography is a way for me to look at the world a little differently, a way to look at it from a fresh, new point of view.  And when I go back and look at my photographs I find myself reminiscing about the day I took the picture and what I was feeling and what I was doing. It is a snapshot of a moment in time, a moment that we can never go back to but we can revisit through a photograph. And each time I look at my photographs I feel something different, I notice new things, and I find myself returning to that time and place in my mind.

Photographs are powerful, they can evoke a wide range of emotions, and usually it is not the same feeling twice. No two people can see a photograph and feel the same thing and I find that incredibly powerful. It is something that I am aware of when I take my pictures.

I am always learning about photography and it is a skill that I hope to improve as I practice more and more. I take pictures for as a hobby, as a creative outlet for me, but I like to share them with other people and hope they enjoy them as much as I do. I don’t make money on my photographs but it is a way I can connect with people and share a little of myself, without saying a word.

Here are a few snapshots in to my life, my world, and even my soul. Enjoy. Red heart

 

wagon wheels          Fort Collins sunrise

San Francisco          Calif beach

Santa Cruz CA          Old door

Wagon wheels          Ski signbeach          hike

Saguaro         Butterflies

philadelphia            river

Leave a Reply

