DIY Magic Towel Wall Art

I am loving the magic towels. The images are so fun and colorful. The Batman ones really stood out for me so I decided that I needed some wall hanging for our Fandom Basement.

Our basement is where we celebrate all fandoms! You can go back to this post and see how I made the Tardis Door. Oh and do you like my hand painted Deathly Hallows symbol and Captain America shield? Just a few details to the Fandom Basement. We love just about all the fandoms…

DIY Magic Towel wall art

This wall art is easy and fairly inexpensive. 

Here is what I did for this wall art.

 

Materials:

DIY Magic Towel wall art

~ Magic Towels (I got mine at the dollar store)

~ Iron

~ Foam board (I got mine at the dollar store)

~ Craft Glue (I used Aleene’s)

~ Ruler or straight edge for a cutting guide

~ Exacto knife or rotary blade.

~ Ribbon

~ Ticky Tac, or some way to hang it.

 

Instructions

~ I washed my towels first. Once they are thoroughly cleaned I ironed them nice and flat. Then they were good to go!

DIY Magic Towel wall art

~ I stacked them on top of each other so that when I I cut the towels they were the same size. I used a ruler for a guide to make sure it was straight.

DIY Magic Towel wall art     DIY Magic Towel wall art

 

~ Once it was all cut I spread craft glue on the foam board. Then I placed the towel on the board

DIY Magic Towel wall art     DIY Magic Towel wall art

~ After the towel was secured to the foam board I trimmed the edges so that it looked good.

DIY Magic Towel wall art

 

~ After it was cut out I trimmed the top edge with ribbon. This was a good way to hide the frayed edges. 

DIY Magic Towel wall art

~Then I noticed that the white foam edges that were showing did not look very good, but I was out of ribbon so I did the next best thing and colored the edges with a Sharpie.

DIY Magic Towel wall art

 

~ Before hanging up let it dry completely. I would place books on top so that it stays flat. I did not do this step and my art curled a little bit and so I had to flatten it after it was dry.

 

~Then hang it up. I used Ticky Tac, but you can use just about anything you want.

 

DIY Magic Towel wall art

DIY Magic Towel wall art

Not bad for just a few dollars. These would looks great in a kids room or bathroom and when they get tired of it it is easy to change out.

 

This time I mounted it on foam board, but next time I am going to try and frame the towel, or stretch it on a 12×12 canvas. So many options, I just hope I have enough wall space.

 

That is it! What do you make with your towels?  I would love to see the art you create.

2 thoughts on “DIY Magic Towel Wall Art

Leave a Reply

